About us

Members of the Centre for Research in Professional Learning (CRPL) share an interest in comparing and contrasting learning within and across different professional contexts.

Our research focuses on understanding the relationship between formal and informal learning throughout professional careers, but particularly at key transition points, with a view to improving outcomes. In particular, the interplay of theory and practice in decision making, the exercise of judgement in the uncertain and complex situations characteristic of professional work across disciplines, and the boundaries around professional work (including work/life balance) are of interest to us.

The Centre for Research in Professional Learning seeks to develop innovative approaches to professional learning and support and promote partnerships to maximise value.

Who we are

Staff affiliated to the Centre for Research in Professional Learning, include some based in University units beyond the Graduate School of Education. Staff from other units across the University and external affiliates are welcome. Please contact Vivienne Baumfield or Karen Mattick for further details. 

Professor Vivienne Baumfield Centre lead
Professor Karen Mattick Centre lead
Dr Alexandra Allan Core member 
Dr Jonathan Doney  Core member 
Sue Burkill Core member 
Dr Sarah Dyer Core member
Helen Foster Collins Core member 
Giles Freathy Core member 
Professor David Hall Core member 

Dr Emese Hall

Core member 

Huong Hoang

Core member 

Alison Pearson

Core member 

Professor Wendy Robinson

Core member 

Dr Lauren Stentiford

 Core member 

Dr Karen Walshe

Core member 

Dr Anthony Wilson

Core member 

Dr ZhiMin Xiao

Core member 
Professor Rob Freathy

Associate Dean (Education), College of Social Sciences and International Studies

Dr Hazel Lawson

Associate Professor in Special and Inclusive Education

Dr Eric Lybeck Manchester Institute of Education
Laura Webb Teaching School Manager, Jurassic Coast Teaching Schools' Alliance
Dr Anna Mountford-Zimdars Associate Professor, Director of the Centre for Social Mobility