The Centre for Rural Policy Research encompasses academic staff drawn from a number of disciplines across the University.

Principal Centre staff

The Centre's principal research and administrative staff are based within the Politics department, part of the College of Social Sciences and International Studies.

Professor Matt Lobley Co-Director, Professor, Politics
Professor Harry G West Co-Director, Professor, Anthropology
Professor Michael Winter Chair of Management Board, Professor, Politics
Professor Stewart Barr Professor of Geography
Dr David Benson Lecturer, Politics (Cornwall)
Professor Steffen Boehm Professor in Organisation and Sustainability (Cornwall)
Professor Henry Buller Professor of Human Geography
Dr Angela Cassidy Lecturer, Politics
Professor Claire Dunlop

Professor of Politics and Public Policy
Dr Keith Howe Senior Research Fellow
Gavin Huggett Project Manager, Defra Sustainable Intensification Platform
Professor Stefano Pascucci Professor in Sustainability and Circular Economy
Dr Carolyn Petersen Associate Research Fellow
Dr Emma Pilgrim Research Fellow, Daphne Jackson Fellowship
Professor Duncan Russel Associate Professor, Politics
Dr Clare Saunders Associate Professor, Environment & Sustainability Institute (Cornwall)
Dr Karen Scott Senior Lecturer, Environment & Sustainability Institute (Cornwall)
Dr Eva Thomann Senior Lecturer
Emma Tranter PA to Directors and Administrator
Dr Rebecca Wheeler Research Fellow
Dr Tim Wilkinson Associate Research Fellow
Dr Joanie Willett Lecturer, Politics (Cornwall)
Dr Gaukhar Yeshenkulova Visiting Scholar

Other staff

The Centre for Rural Policy Research receives input from a number of University of Exeter academics from other departments and disciplines, plus visiting staff from other institutions.

The Centre is also home to a number of PhD researchers, and is guided by an expert Advisory Board.

NamePhD title
Elisa Becker

The John Oldacre Foundation PhD Studentship: Towards Sustainable Livestock Systems

Charlotte-Anne Chivers Exploring farmers’ attitudes to on-farm control measures of water pollution
Adrian Colston

Stakeholder attitudes to the Dartmoor Commons: tradition, conflict and the search for consensus in an age of atmospheric pollution and climate change

Beth Dooley

The Rowan Johnstone PhD Studentship: Policies to Build Resilience in UK agriculture

Jessica Fagin

Of Meat and Men: Policy, Class and Gendering Heritage in British Abattoirs

Nicholas Kirsop-Taylor Land use Futures - An Ecosystem Services Approach to the 'Land between the Moors'
Megan Larmer

Towards an edible ethic: land-use, gastronomy, and the politics of rurality in the Hudson Valley 

Polly Lord The application of employment law in agriculture
Eimear Mc Loughlin Slaughterhouse Culture: An Ethnography of Animal Slaughter in Denmark
Caroline Nye The John Oldacre Foundation PhD Studentship: Agricultural Labour in the UK: Change and Challenge in the Transition to Sustainable Intensification
Rachel Pinnock Cream of the Crop: Investigating the role food awards play in shaping restaurant practices and consumer perceptions in south-west England
Celia Plender ‘Self-help by the people!’: Politics, morality and change in British food co-ops
Virginia Thomas Rewilding of species, land and ecosystems

Recently completed PhDs

NamePhD title
Hannah Chiswell  Rising to the Food Security Challenge:  An Investigation into the Impact of the Food Security Agenda on Farmers and their Successors in the South West of England.
Georgina Crossman The Organisational Landscape of the English Horse Industry: a Contrast with Sweden and the Netherlands.
Pedro Andrés Garzon Delvaux Woodfuel Supply Chain Integration in the South West of England; A Transaction Costs Approach to Bioenergy Development
Gordon Morris People Helping People - An Assessment of the Market Towns and Related Initiatives and the Extent to Which they Addressed Rural Poverty.
Colin Nolden Building Capacity for Climate Change Actions in Rural Communities.
Lauren Parry Policy and Practice for the Sustainable Carbon Management of Moorlands.
Justin Pollard The Importance of Being There: Understanding Social Capital to Evaluate Sustainability - An Ethnographic Approach.
Tom Richardson
Science and the Politics of Sustainability: An Analysis of Four Research-Council Funded Bioenergy Projects.
Tim Wilkinson Perceptions of Exmoor
Cheryl Willis Harnessing Nature’s Benefits: Problems and Prospects for Recognising the Environmental Basis of Regional Tourist Economies.
Andrew Bell Honorary Research Fellow North Devon Biosphere and Forestry Commission
Dr Paul Brassley Honorary Research Fellow Freelance Researcher
Professor Adrian Collins Honorary Professor Rothamsted Research
Dr Rob Fish Reader in Human Ecology University of Kent
Dr Matt Heard Honorary Professor CEH
Professor Natarajan Ishwaran Honorary Professor HIST-UNESCO
Dr Phil Le Grice Honorary Research Fellow Duchy College
Nick Millard Honorary Research Fellow Michelmore Hughes
Mark Robins Honorary Research Fellow RSPB
Richard Soffe Honorary Senior Research Fellow Duchy College Rural Business School
Dr Nick Sotherton Honorary University Fellow Game & Wildlife Conservation Trust
Dr Nigel Stone Honorary Research Fellow Former Chief Executive, Exmoor National Park
Sir Harry Studholme Honorary Professor Chair of the Forestry Commission
Martyn Warren Honorary Research Fellow Consultant
Dr Nicholas Aebischer Honorary Research Associate Game & Wildlife Conservation Trust
Dr David Baines Honorary Research Associate Game & Wildlife Conservation Trust
Dr Jen Brewin Honorary Research Associate Game & Wildlife Conservation Trust
Dr Allan Butler Honorary Research Associate Royal Agricultural University
Dr Hannah Chiswell Honorary Research Associate CCRI
Dr Julie Ewald Honorary Research Associate Game & Wildlife Conservation Trust
Dr Stephen Gregory Honorary Research Associate Game & Wildlife Conservation Trust
Dr Andrew Hoodless Honorary Research Associate Game & Wildlife Conservation Trust
Dr Rasmus Lauridsen Honorary Research Associate Game & Wildlife Conservation Trust
Lauren Mattingley Honorary Research Associate Salmon & Trout Conservation UK
Dr Niamh McHugh Honorary Research Associate Game & Wildlife Conservation Trust
Professor John McInerney Emeritus Professor  
Dr Gordon Morris Honorary Research Associate Freelance Researcher
Dr Jonathan Reynolds Honorary Research Associate Game & Wildlife Conservation Trust
Dr Rufus Sage Honorary Research Associate Game & Wildlife Conservation Trust
Dr Eirini Saratsi Honorary Research Associate Freelance Researcher
Dr Cheryl Willis Honorary Research Associate  

Table here