De Bono's Six Thinking Hats

Edward de Bono is regarded by many as the leading authority in the field of creative thinking, innovation and the direct teaching of thinking as a skill. He is equally renowned for his development of the Six Thinking Hats. The Six Thinking Hats method provides a practical method of constructive thinking. Each thinking role is identified with a coloured hat as shown to the right. Six Thinking Hats is a simple, effective parallel thinking process that helps people be more productive, focused, and mindfully involved.

The Six Thinking Hats (or modes)

  • The White Hat calls for information known or needed.
  • The Red Hat signifies feelings, hunches and intuition. 
  • The Black Hat is judgment -- the devil's advocate or why something may not work. 
  • The Yellow Hat symbolizes brightness and optimism. 
  • The Green Hat focuses on creativity: the possibilities, alternatives and new ideas. 
  • The Blue Hat is used to manage the thinking process.

See for further information.