Skip to main content

People

People

The Centre for Rural Policy Research encompasses academic staff drawn from a number of disciplines across the University.

Principal Centre staff

The Centre's principal research and administrative staff are based within the Politics department, part of the College of Social Sciences and International Studies.

Professor Matt Lobley Co-Director, Professor, Rural Resource Management M.Lobley@exeter.ac.uk
Professor Harry G West Co-Director, Professor, Anthropology H.G.West@exeter.ac.uk
Professor Michael Winter Chair of Management Board, Professor, Land Economy and Society D.M.Winter@exeter.ac.uk
Professor Stewart Barr Professor of Geography S.W.Barr@exeter.ac.uk
Dr David Benson Associate Professor, Politics (Cornwall) D.I.Benson@exeter.ac.uk
Professor Steffen Boehm Professor in Organisation and Sustainability (Cornwall) S.Boehm@exeter.ac.uk
Professor Henry Buller Professor of Human Geography  H.Buller@exeter.ac.uk
Dr Angela Cassidy Senior Lecturer, SPA A.Cassidy@exeter.ac.uk
Professor Claire Dunlop

Professor of Politics and Public Policy

C.A.Dunlop@exeter.ac.uk
Dr Steve Guilbert

Research Fellow

s.guilbert3@exeter.ac.uk
Professor Mickey Howard

Professor of Supply Management

m.b.howard@exeter.ac.uk
Dr Keith Howe Senior Research Fellow K.S.Howe@exeter.ac.uk
Professor Jo Little Professor in Gender and Geography J.K.Little@exeter.ac.uk
Dr Caroline Nye Research Fellow cn293@exeter.ac.uk
Professor Stefano Pascucci Professor in Sustainability and Circular Economy S.Pascucci@exeter.ac.uk
Dr Carolyn Petersen Research Fellow C.J.Petersen@exeter.ac.uk
Professor Duncan Russel Professor, Politics D.J.Russel@exeter.ac.uk
Dr Clare Saunders Associate Professor, Environment & Sustainability Institute (Cornwall) C.Saunders@exeter.ac.uk
Dr Karen Scott Senior Lecturer, Environment & Sustainability Institute (Cornwall) K.E.Scott@exeter.ac.uk
Dr Eva Thomann Senior Lecturer E.Thomann@exeter.ac.uk
Dr Virginia Thomas
Research Fellow v.thomas4@exeter.ac.uk
Emma Tranter PA to Directors and Administrator  E.L.Tranter@exeter.ac.uk
Dr Rebecca Wheeler Research Fellow R.Wheeler3@exeter.ac.uk
Dr Tim Wilkinson Research Fellow T.J.Wilkinson@exeter.ac.uk
Dr Joanie Willett Lecturer, Politics (Cornwall) J.M.A.Willett@exeter.ac.uk
Dr Hugh Williamson Research Fellow

H.Williamson@exeter.ac.uk

Other staff

The Centre for Rural Policy Research receives input from a number of University of Exeter academics from other departments and disciplines, plus visiting staff from other institutions.

The Centre is also home to a number of PhD researchers, and is guided by an expert Advisory Board.

NamePhD title
Catherine Broomfield

Making it work here: enabling grassland farming communities to develop a place-based response to the global challenge of living within planetary boundaries

Charlotte-Anne Chivers

Exploring the credibility, relevance and legitimacy of environmental advice provisioning surrounding diffuse water pollution from agriculture

Jen Clements

The Cornish agri-environment: attitudes, values and behaviour in uncertain times

Beth Dooley

The Rowan Johnstone PhD Studentship: Reorientating change: an ethnographic look at how farmer discussion groups within the South West promote social learning and build resilience

Jessica Fagin

Boundary and Identity making in “Conventional” and Halal Sheep Slaughter in England

Jed Hilton

The Chef as Activist: The Changing Role and Activism of Contemporary Chefs

Tracey Hooper

Understanding south west farmers' behavioural tendencies as the demand for public good increases

William Jaggard

Painfully delicious: What producing and consuming chilli says about individual identity in British society

Megan Larmer

Towards an edible ethic: land-use, gastronomy, and the politics of rurality in the Hudson Valley 

Jill Lidgey

The role and future of town markets in the 21st Century

Aoife Maher

Exploring the barriers to alternative horticultural uses for grazing lands

Eimear Mc Loughlin Slaughterhouse Culture: An Ethnography of Animal Slaughter in Denmark
Oliver Moore Feeding time at the zoo: post-war to present day
Hannah Mortimer Human-animal interactions and feeding practices on British farms
Anna Seecharan Starts September 2021

Recently completed PhDs

NamePhD title
Hannah Chiswell Rising to the Food Security Challenge:  An Investigation into the Impact of the Food Security Agenda on Farmers and their Successors in the South West of England.
Adrian Colston Stakeholder attitudes to the Dartmoor Commons: tradition, conflict and the search for consensus in an age of atmospheric pollution and climate change
Georgina Crossman The Organisational Landscape of the English Horse Industry: a Contrast with Sweden and the Netherlands.
Pedro Andrés Garzon Delvaux Woodfuel Supply Chain Integration in the South West of England; A Transaction Costs Approach to Bioenergy Development
Nicholas Kirsop-Taylor Land use Futures - An Ecosystem Services Approach to the 'Land between the Moors'
Gordon Morris People Helping People - An Assessment of the Market Towns and Related Initiatives and the Extent to Which they Addressed Rural Poverty.
Polly Lord The application of employment law in agriculture
Colin Nolden Building Capacity for Climate Change Actions in Rural Communities.
Caroline Nye The John Oldacre Foundation PhD Studentship: Agricultural Labour in the UK: Change and Challenge in the Transition to Sustainable Intensification
Lauren Parry Policy and Practice for the Sustainable Carbon Management of Moorlands.
Celia Plender Food Co-ops in Austerity Britain: Negotiating politics, aid and care in changing times
Tom Richardson
(Tremough)
Science and the Politics of Sustainability: An Analysis of Four Research-Council Funded Bioenergy Projects.
Virginia Thomas Navigating the landscapes and boundaries of rewilding
Tim Wilkinson Perceptions of Exmoor
Cheryl Willis Harnessing Nature’s Benefits: Problems and Prospects for Recognising the Environmental Basis of Regional Tourist Economies.
NamePositionOrganisation
HONORARY APPOINTMENTS  
Emma-Jayne Abbots Honorary Senior Lecturer  
Andrew Bell Honorary Research Fellow North Devon Biosphere and Forestry Commission
Dr Paul Brassley Honorary Research Fellow Freelance Researcher
Dr Paul Cleave Honorary Research Fellow  
Professor Adrian Collins Honorary Professor Rothamsted Research
Dr Mukta Das Honorary Research Fellow  
Dr Katharina Graf Honorary Research Fellow SOAS Food Studies Centre
Professor Rosie Hails Honorary Professor The National Trust
Dr Jilly Hall Honorary Research Fellow SPSN: Supporting the People who Support Nature
Kaley Hart Honorary Senior Research Fellow IEEP
Dr Matt Heard Honorary Professor The National Trust
Professor Natarajan Ishwaran Honorary Professor HIST-UNESCO
Dr Phil Le Grice Honorary Research Fellow Rothamsted Research
Professor John McInerney Emeritus Professor  
Richard Soffe Honorary Senior Research Fellow Duchy College Rural Business School
Dr Nick Sotherton Honorary University Fellow Game & Wildlife Conservation Trust
Dr Anne Stobart Honorary Research Fellow  
Sir Harry Studholme Honorary Professor Chair of the Forestry Commission
 ASSOCIATES  
Dr Jen Brewin Research Associate Game & Wildlife Conservation Trust
Dr Allan Butler Research Associate Environment Agency
Dr Madeleine Gustavsson Affiliate

ECEHH

Dr Stephen Gregory Research Associate Game & Wildlife Conservation Trust
Dr Andrew Hoodless Research Associate Game & Wildlife Conservation Trust
Dr Rasmus Lauridsen Research Associate Game & Wildlife Conservation Trust
Dr Gordon Morris Research Associate Freelance Researcher
Marlies Nicolai Research Associate Game & Wildlife Conservation Trust
Dr Dave Parish Research Associate Game & Wildlife Conservation Trust
Dr Tom Porteus Research Associate Game & Wildlife Conservation Trust
Dr Jonathan Reynolds Research Associate Game & Wildlife Conservation Trust

More information about our advisory board will follow soon.