Skip to main content

Who We Are

Who we are

 

Katharine Boyd

Senior Lecturer

Katharine Boyd is interested in political and religiously motivated violence, counterterrorism policy, evidence-based policy, and alcohol-related violence.  For more information about her work, click here.

Email: K.Boyd@exeter.ac.uk 

 Abi Dymond

Abi Dymond

Lecturer in Criminology

Abi Dymond is interested in issues around police use of force and has worked on the introduction of the new Use of Force Reporting Requirement for police forces in England and Wales. For more information about her work, click here.

Email: A.Dymond@exeter.ac.uk 

 Hannah Farrimond

Hannah Farrimond

Senior Lecturer in Sociology

Hannah Farrimond is interested in psycho-social dimensions of legal addictions, tobacco harm reduction, e-cigarettes, cessation services, stigma and public health, new health technologies, and research ethics.  For more information about her work, click here

Email: H.R.Farrimond@exeter.ac.uk 

 Portrait Dreolin Fleischer (small)

Dreolin Fleischer

Research Fellow

Dreolin Fleischer is interested in evidence-based policing, evaluation, utilization, and knowledge exchange.  Currently, she works with both University of Exeter and Devon and Cornwall Police on evidence-based policing strategies and research.           

Email: D.N.Fleischer@exeter.ac.uk 

 Ashley Frayling (small)

Ashley Frayling

Associate Lecturer in Sociology

Ashley Frayling is interested in the Special Constabulary, with a further interest in evidence-led policing.  For more information about her work, click here.

Email: A.Frayling@exeter.ac.uk 

 100px tall mugshot of Oliver James (Politics)

Oliver James

Professor of Political Science

Oliver James is interested in the politics of public services, citizen-provider relationships, public sector organisation and reform, executive politics and regulation of publicly owned and/or funded bodies and services.  For more information about his work, click here.

Email: O.James@exeter.ac.uk 

 Mugshot of Iain Lang

Iain Lang

Senior Lecturer in Public Health and Associate Dean (International & Development)

Iain Lang is interested in implementation science and knowledge mobilisation.  For more information about his work, click here.

Email: I.Lang@exeter.ac.uk 

 Brian Rappert

Brian Rappert

Professor of Science, Technology and Public Affairs

Brian Rappert is interested in social and ethical dilemmas associated with scientific and technical expertise, especially in areas of public controversy.  For more information about his work, click here.

Email: B.Rappert@exeter.ac.uk 

 

Stephen Skinner

Associate Professor of Comparative Legal History and Human Rights

Stephen Skinner is interested in the history of criminal law in early twentieth-century England and Italy, theoretical perspectives on State power and the rule of law, and how the European Convention on Human Rights regulates the State’s use of lethal force in domestic policing.  For more information about his work, click here.

Email: S.J.Skinner@exeter.ac.uk 

 Mugshot Kath Wilkinson

Kath Wilkinson

Associate Research Fellow

Kath Wilkinson is interested in evidence-based practice, adult and child mental health, children with disabilities, and implementation science.  For more information about her work, click here.

Email: K.Wilkinson2@exeter.ac.uk 

 Hannah Wheat

Hannah Wheat

Research Fellow

Hannah Wheat is interested in the use of digital forensics within the police force.  For more information about her work, click here.

Email: H.Wheat@exeter.ac.uk 

 Mugshot Dana Wilson-Kovacs

Dana Wilson-Kovacs

Senior Lecturer

Dana Wilson-Kovacs is interested in the governance and application of scientific and technological innovation and professional trajectories in policing. She is the Principal Investigator on a three years ESRC project (Sep 2018-August 2021) on the application of digital forensics in policing.  For more information about her work, click here.

Email: M.D.Wilson-Kovacs@exeter.ac.uk