People

The Centre for Gulf Studies encompasses academic staff whose expertise range across the social sciences and humanities of the Arabian Peninsula, Iraq and Iran. These geographic and thematic areas overlap and intertwine, in recognition of historical shifts, histories of contact, and the value of interdisciplinary inquiry.

Principal Centre staff

The Centre's principal research and administrative staff are based within the Institute of Arab and Islamic Studies, part of the College of Social Sciences and International Studies.

Centre management
NamePositionEmail
Dr Marc Valeri Centre Director M.Valeri@exeter.ac.uk
Centre staff
NamePositionEmail

Prof Dionisius Agius

Al Qasimi Professor of Arabic Studies and Islamic Material Culture D.A.Agius@exeter.ac.uk
Dr Michael Axworthy Senior Lecturer M.G.A.Axworthy@exeter.ac.uk
Dr John P. Cooper Lecturer in Arabic Studies and Islamic Material Culture j.p.cooper@exeter.ac.uk
Prof Tim Niblock Professor Emeritus t.c.niblock@exeter.ac.uk
Dr James Onley Senior Lecturer in Middle Eastern History. J.Onley@exeter.ac.uk
Prof Sajjad Rizvi Associate Professor of Islamic Intellectual History s.h.rizvi@exeter.ac.uk
Prof Gareth Stansfield Al-Qasimi Professor of Gulf Studies, Director of the Institute of Arab and Islamic Studies g.r.v.stansfield@exeter.ac.uk

Other staff

The Centre for Gulf Studies receives input from a number of University of Exeter academics from other departments and disciplines, plus honorary fellows and visiting staff from other institutions. The Centre is also home to a number of PhD students.

You can see full lists of all CGS staff and fellows on the following pages: