Institute Director
Professor Sajjad Rizvi Director of the Institute of Arab and Islamic Studies
Professor Dionisius A. Agius FBA Al Qasimi Professor of Arabic Studies and Islamic Material Culture
Professor Robert Gleave Professor of Arabic Studies
Professor Ian Netton Sharjah Professor of Islamic Studies
Professor Ilan Pappé Professor of History, Director of the European Centre for Palestine Studies.
Professor Gareth Stansfield Al-Qasimi Professor of Gulf Studies
Associate Professors
Professor Christine Allison Ibrahim Ahmed Professor of Kurdish Studies, Director of the Centre for Kurdish Studies
Associate Professor William Gallois Associate Professor of Middle Eastern and Mediterranean History
Professor Jonathan Githens-Mazer Associate Professor in Ethno-Politics
Senior Lecturers
Dr Omar Ashour Senior Lecturer in Middle East Politics and Security Studies
Dr Michael Axworthy Senior Lecturer
Dr Leonard Lewisohn Senior Lecturer, Iran Heritage Foundation Fellow in Persian and Sufi Literaure
Dr James Onley Senior Lecturer in Middle Eastern History
Dr Clemence Scalbert-Yucel Senior Lecturer in Ethnopolitics
Dr Lise Storm Senior Lecturer in Middle East Politics
Dr Suha Taji-Farouki Senior Lecturer in Modern Islam
Dr Marc Valeri Senior Lecturer in Political Economy of the Middle East, Director - Centre for Gulf Studies
Dr John P. Cooper Lecturer in Arabic Studies and Islamic Material Culture
Dr Eleanor Gao Lecturer in Middle Eastern Politics
Ms Wafa Iskander Lecturer in Arabic Language
Dr István Kristó-Nagy Lecturer in Arabic & Islamic Studies
Mr Ali Mossadegh Lecturer in Persian Language
Dr Andrea Mura Lecturer in Middle East Politics and Political Thought
Dr Burcu Ozturk Lecturer in Turkish Language
Dr Christina Phillips Lecturer in Arabic Literature and Media
Ms Fatima Rawan Lecturer in Arabic Language
Dr Alam Saleh Lecturer in Middle Eastern Politics
Dr Emily Selove Lecturer of medieval Arabic language and literature
Mr Wassim Wagdy Lecturer in Arabic Language
Research Fellows
Dr Alex Mallett Research Fellow in Christian-Muslim relations
Dr Nadia Naser-Najjab Research Fellow in Palestine studies
Dr Kelsey Shanks Research Fellow - ESRC Iraq Disputed Territories
Support Staff
Zoe Alford College Admissions and Student Recruitment Administrator (GBP)
Tom Allen SSIS Student Recruitment Administrator
Kate Blackmore Projects Officer (Widening Participation and Pathways to Law)
Judith Breckell SSIS Administrator (Education & Workload Planning)
Ms Jane Clark Research and Finance (IAIS)
Anna Hamilton Administrative & Project Assistant
Ms Zoë Humble ESRC Iraq Disputed Territories Research Project Administrator
Lizzie Hustwayte Academic Programme Support Manager
Leo Leandro Rodrigues Project and Web Development Manager (MESnet)
Eleanor Monger SSIS Student Recruitment Team Leader
Miss Julia Paci Employability and Outreach Manager
Emma Reeve Acting Marketing and Student Recruitment Manager
Sarah Roberts Administrator
Jane Tanner Web Marketing Officer (Web Team)
Mrs Melanie Williams PA to the Director
Professors Emeriti
Professor Rasheed El-Enany Professor Emeritus
Professor Richard Hitchcock Professor Emeritus
Professor Tim Niblock Professor Emeritus
Visiting Professors
Professor Said Faiq
Professor Gerd Nonneman Visiting Professor
Honorary Research Fellows
Dr Muayad Ahmed Shihab Al-Khshali Honorary Research Fellow
Dr Saad Abadulaziz Aloudah Honorary Research Fellow
Dr Sufyan Aabu Zayda Honorary Research Fellow
Dr Noor al-Qasimi Honorary Research Fellow
Dr Saud Al-Sarhan Honorary Research Fellow
Mr Paul Auchterlonie Honorary Research Fellow
Dr Jenny Balfour-Paul Honorary Research Fellow
Professor Herman Bell Professor, Senior Research Fellow
Dr Li Bingzhong Honorary Research Fellow
Mr John R. L. Carter Honorary Research Fellow
Ms Nur Cetinoglu Honorary Research Fellow
Dr Uri Davis Honorary Research Fellows
Dr Pinar Dost-Niyego Honorary Research Fellow
Dr Bryan Gibson Honorary Research Fellow
Dr Elaine M Goodwin Honorary Research Fellow
Dr Chhaya Goswami Honorary Research Fellow
Dr Syahrul Hidayat Honorary Research Fellow
Dr Lahay A Hussain Honorary Research Fellow
Dr Intan Syah Ichsan Honorary Research Fellow
Dr Mohammed Ihsan Honorary Research Fellow
Dr N Janardhan Honorary Research Fellow
Dr Julian Jansen Van Rensburg Honorary Research Fellow
Dr Ghada Karmi Honorary Research Fellow
Dr Basoeki Koesasi Honorary Research Fellow
Dr Fatemeh Kohan Honorary Research Fellow
Mr Leslie McLoughlin Honorary Research Fellow
Dr Harriet Nash Honorary Research Fellow
Miss Anastasia Nosova Associate Research Fellow
Dr Francis Owtram Honorary Research Fellow
Dr Eskandar Sadeghi-Boroujerdi Honorary Research Fellow
Dr Rskal Salim Honorary Research Fellow
Dr David Seddon Honorary Research Fellow
Dr Jordi Tejel Honorary Research Fellow
Mr Christopher Ward Honorary Research Fellow
Dr Steven Wright Honorary Research Fellow
Dr Luciano Zaccara Honorary Research Fellow